Effects of Childhood and Adult Persistent Attention-Deficit/Hyperactivity Disorder on Risk of Motor Vehicle Crashes: Results From the Multimodal Treatment Study of Children With Attention-Deficit/Hyperactivity Disorder


Article in Press

The Multimodal Treatment of Attention Deficit and Hyperactivity Disorder (MTA) Study was a National Institute of Mental Health (NIMH) cooperative agreement randomized clinical trial with the observational phase funded by the NIMH and National Institute on Drug Abuse (NIDA) to the following: University of California, Berkeley: U01MH50461, N01MH12009, N01DA-8-5550; Duke University: U01MH50477, N01MH12012, N01DA-8-5554; University of California, Irvine: U01MH50440, N01MH12011, N01DA-8-5551; Research Foundation for Mental Hygiene (New York State Psychiatric Institute/Columbia University): U01 MH50454, N01 MH12007, N01DA-8-5552; Long Island–Jewish Medical Center: U01 MH50453; New York University: N01MH 12004, N01DA-8-5549; University of Pittsburgh: U01 MH50467, N01MH 12010, N01DA-8-5553; McGill University: N01MH12008, N01DA-8-5548. A data analysis grant was awarded to the University of Pittsburgh (DA039881).

MTA was an NIMH cooperative agreement randomized clinical trial with the observational phase funded by NIMH and NIDA contracts followed by an NIDA data analysis grant (DA039881). Collaborators formerly at NIMH: Benedetto Vitiello, MD (currently University of Turin), Joanne B. Severe, MS, Peter S. Jensen, MD (currently University of Arkansas), L. Eugene Arnold, MD, MEd (currently Ohio State University), Kimberly Hoagwood, PhD (currently Columbia); early phase NIMH contributors: John Richters, PhD, Donald Vereen, MD. Site principal investigators/co-investigators: University of California, Berkeley/San Francisco: Stephen P. Hinshaw, PhD (Berkeley), Glen R. Elliott, PhD, MD (San Francisco); Duke University: Karen C. Wells, PhD, Jeffery N. Epstein, PhD (currently Cincinnati Children’s Hospital), Desiree W. Murray, PhD (currently UNC Chapel Hill); early phase Duke contributors: C. Keith Conners, PhD; John March, MD, MPH; University of California, Irvine: James Swanson, PhD, Timothy Wigal, PhD; UCLA contributor: Dennis P. Cantwell, MD; NYU School of Medicine: Howard B. Abikoff, PhD; Montreal Children’s Hospital/McGill University: Lily Hechtman, MD; NY State Psychiatric Institute/Columbia University/Mount Sinai Medical Center: Laurence L. Greenhill, MD, Jeffrey H. Newcorn, MD; University of Pittsburgh: Brooke Molina, PhD, Betsy Hoza, PhD (currently University of Vermont), William E. Pelham, PhD (currently Florida International University). Follow-up statistical collaborators: Robert D. Gibbons, PhD (University of Illinois, Chicago); Sue Marcus, PhD (Mt. Sinai College of Medicine); Kwan Hur, PhD (University of Illinois, Chicago). Original study statistical/design consultant: Helena C. Kraemer, PhD (Stanford University). Collaborators from US Department of Education: Thomas Hanley, EdD, and Office of Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention: Karen Stern, PhD.

Disclosure: Dr. Roy has received support from an Alexander von Humboldt fellowship (2017–2018). Dr. Epstein has received research support from Akili Interactive Labs, royalties from Multi-Health Systems, Inc., consulting fees from the American Academy of Pediatrics and the American Board of Pediatrics, and licensing fees from Optimal Medicine, Inc. and IXICO. Dr. Swanson has received research support from, has served on advisory board and speaker’s bureau for, and/or has received consulting fees from Alza, Richwood, Shire, Celgene, Novartis, Celltech, Gliatech, Cephalon, Watson, CIBA, UCB, Janssen, McNeil, NLS Pharma, and Medice. Dr. Arnold has received research funding from Forest, Eli Lilly and Co., Noven, Shire, Supernus, Roche, and YoungLiving (as well as National Institutes of Health and Autism Speaks); has consulted with Pfizer, Tris Pharma, and Waypoint; and has been on advisory boards for Arbor, Ironshore, Otsuka, Pfizer, Roche, Seaside Therapeutics, and Shire. Dr. Hechtman has served on the advisory board of, been a speaker for, and received research funding from Jansen, Shire, and Purdue and has been on the advisory board for Ironshore. Drs. Garner, Hoza, and Molina and Mr. Nichols report no biomedical financial interests or potential conflicts of interest.

©2019 American Academy of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry. Published by Elsevier Inc. All rights reserved.

Source link


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here