Trajectories of Growth Associated With Long-Term Stimulant Medication in the Multimodal Treatment Study of Attention-Deficit/Hyperactivity Disorder


Article in Press

This work was supported by cooperative grants and contracts from National Institute of Mental Health (NIMH) and the National Institute on Drug Abuse (NIDA) to the following: University of California-Berkeley: U01 MH50461 , N01MH12009 , and HHSN271200800005-C ; DA-8-5550 ; Duke University: U01 MH50477 , N01MH12012 , and HHSN271200800009-C ; DA-8-5554 ; University of California-Irvine: U01 MH50440 , N01MH 12011 , and HHSN271200800006-C ; DA-8-5551 ; Research Foundation for Mental Hygiene (New York State Psychiatric Institute/Columbia University): U01 MH50467 , N01 MH12007 , and HHSN271200800007-C ; DA-8-5552 ; Long Island Jewish Medical Center: U01-MH50453 ; New York University: N01MH 12004 and HHSN271200800004-C ; DA-8-5549 ; University of Pittsburgh: U01 MH50467 , N01 MH 12010 , and HHSN 271200800008C ; DA-8-5553 ; and McGill University: N01MH12008 and HHSN271200800003-C ); DA-8-5548 . Continuation support was providedby NIDA. Funding support for J.T.M. was providedby NIDA, US, K23 DA032577. The Multimodal Treatment Study of Children with ADHD (MTA) was a National Institute of Mental Health (NIMH) cooperative agreement randomized clinical trial,continued under an NIMH contract as a follow-up studyand finally under a National Institute on Drug Abuse (NIDA) contract. Collaborators from NIMH: B.V. (Child& Adolescent Treatment and Preventive InterventionsResearch Branch); Joanne B. Severe (Clinical Trials Operations and Biostatistics Unit, Division of Services and Intervention Research), P.S.J. (currently at REACH Institute and Mayo Clinic); L.E.A. (currently at Ohio State University); Kimberly Hoagwood (currently at Columbia). Previous contributors from NIMH to the early phases: John Richters (currently at National Institute of Nursing Research); Donald Vereen (currently at NIDA). Principal investigators and coinvestigatorsfrom the sites are: University of California, Berkeley/San Francisco: S.P.H. (Berkeley); G.E.R. (San Francisco); Duke University: Karen C. Wells, J.N.E. (currently at Cincinnati Children’s Hospital Medical Center); D.W.M. Previous Duke contributorsto early phases: C. Keith Conners (former PI); John March. University of California, Irvine: J.M.S. T.W. Previous contributor from UCLA to the early phases: Dennis P. Cantwell (deceased). New York University: H.B.A. Montreal Children’s Hospital/McGill University, Canada: L.H. New York State Psychiatric Institute/ColumbiaUniversity/Mount Sinai Medical Center: L.L.G. (Columbia), J.H.N. (Mount Sinai School of Medicine). University of Pittsburgh: B.S.G.M; B.H. (currently at University of Vermont); W.E.P. (PI for early phases, currently at Florida International University). Follow-up phase statistical collaborators: Robert D. Gibbons (University of Illinois, Chicago); Sue Marcus (Mt. Sinai College of Medicine); Kwan Hur (University of Illinois, Chicago). Original study statistical and design consultant: H.C.K. (Stanford University). Collaborator from the Office of Special Education Programs/US Departmentof Education: Thomas Hanley. Collaborator from Office of Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention/Department of Justice: Karen Stern. The National Institute of Mental Health (NIMH) was involved in the initial study design and treatment phase and early follow-up but not in the adult follow-up phase. National Institute on Drug Abuse negotiated contract deliverables for the final follow-up.

Ms. Stehli served as the statistical expert for this research.

Disclosure: Dr. Greenhill has received support from the Klingenstein Third Generation Foundation and the REACH Foundation. Dr. Hechtman has received research support, served on advisory boards, and has been a speaker for Ortho Janssen, Purdue Pharma, Iron Shore, and Shire and has received book royalties from Guilford, APA, John Hopkins University Press, and Oxford University Press. Dr. Waxmonsky has received research funding from the National Institutes of Health (NIH), Supernus, and Pfizer and has served on the advisory board for Noven, Iron Shore, NLS Pharma, and Purdue Pharma. During this writing of this paper, his time was in part supported by grant MH083692. Dr. Arnold has received research funding from Curemark, Forest, Eli Lilly and Co., Neuropharm, Novartis, Noven, Shire, Young-Living, NIH, Autism Speaks, Supernus, and Roche/Genentech; has consulted with or been on advisory boards for Arbor, Gowlings, Neuropharm, Novartis, Noven, Organon, Otsuka, Pfizer, Roche, Seaside Therapeutics, Sigma Tau, Shire, Tris Pharma, and Waypoint; and has received travel support from Noven. Dr. Jensen has received unrestricted educational grants from Shire, Inc., has served as a consultant to Shire, Inc., and is a shareholder of an evidence-based practices consulting company (CATCH Services, LLC). Dr. Wigal has received research funding from Akili, Ironshore Pharmaceuticals, Neurolife Sciences, Neurovance, NuTec, Pfizer, Purdue, Rho, Rhodes, Shire, Sunovion, and Tris Pharma; has consulted with or been on advisory boards for Cingulate, Ironshore Pharmaceuticals, NeuroLife Sciences, NuTec, Otsuka, Pfizer, Purdue, Rho, Rhodes, Shire, Sunovion, Touchpoint, and Tris Pharma. Dr. Hanć has received travel support from MEDICE Arzneimittel Putter GmbH and Co. KG. Drs. Swanson, Molina, Hinshaw, Abikoff, Howard, and Hermussen and Ms. Stehli report no biomedical financial interests or potential conflicts of interest.

©2019 American Academy of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry

Source link


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here